Mark Clattenburg offers explanation after Alan Shearer spotted 'nasty' challenge

16 hours ago 6

Mark Clattenburg believes referee Felix Zwayer was correct NOT to brandish a red card to Lautaro Martinez for his late challenge on Andy Robertson during Liverpool's visit to Inter Milan on Tuesday.

Liverpool beat Inter 1-0 at the San Siro. In the 13th minute, Robertson hit the deck following a reckless tackle from Martinez. The striker attempted to win possession but instead caught the Liverpool left-back, who had reached the ball first, and was sent sprawling.

Some observers demanded that Martinez be dismissed, but Zwayer chose to caution the Argentina international. VAR reviewed the incident but supported the referee's original decision and chose not to intervene.

Offering his assessment of the incident, former Premier League referee Clattenburg said on Amazon Prime Video's coverage of the match: "It would have been a different type of challenge if he had went in with his studs.

"He tries to pull away by pulling his legs away, and that's why he hits him with his knee, even though it still injures the player.

"But I think it would have been a different colour, it could have been a red card if he had went in with his studs, but I agree with a yellow card for this type of challenge."

Liverpool head coach Arne Slot managed to pick up a win in Italy

Liverpool head coach Arne Slot managed to pick up a win in Italy

Alan Shearer added: "He goes in early, he makes his mind up early what he is doing, but he does actually tuck his legs in and go in with his shins rather than his studs. Still, it's a nasty challenge, though."

Liverpool, sans the absent Mohamed Salah, kicked off brightly at San Siro. Indeed, Arne Slot's team controlled the first half hour, creating several scoring opportunities.

After squandering a few chances, the Reds believed they had broken the deadlock in the 31st minute. Ibrahima Konate poked the ball into the net from close range after Ekitike won the initial contact.

However, upon further inspection of the incident, Zwayer decided to disallow the goal. He deemed that Ekitike had handled the ball during the build-up.

"It's an interesting one, because as the player is jumping, his arm does come out for elevation," Clattenburg said.

"It will just be the argument 'was this a deliberate handball' or not, because that handball does go to a teammate, so it gets rid of the argument that he scores the goal direct from the accidental handball.

"So it will only be, 'Is this arm in a natural position for jumping when the ball hits the arm?'

"What you do see is a slight movement of the arm toward the ball, and I think this could end up being disallowed because of that movement of that arm going toward the ball makes the ball go toward his teammate to score the goal."

Story Saved

You can find this story in  My Bookmarks.Or by navigating to the user icon in the top right.

Read Entire Article