Arsenal swept aside West Ham United in a simple 2-0 victory at the Emirates Stadium on Saturday afternoon. Unlike the drama at Newcastle United, there was a much calmer feel around this particular victory.
Yet the refereeing drama continued from St James’ Park. For the second week running, Arsenal felt aggrieved not to have been awarded multiple penalties despite their second goal coming from the spot.
Mikel Arteta did not need to address the points post-match because of how simple the win was, but had it not gone their way, the frustration would have surely been more prevalent. Here, football.london look through the decisions from the clash.
Jurrien Timber penalty call that wasn’t
In real time, sitting in the press box, which looks out across the Clock End penalty box, I thought this was surely a penalty kick. Replays were scarce after the incident, which saw Timber go to ground in the box after seemingly being impeded by Crysencio Summerville just before the ball landed at Riccardo Calafiori’s feet, only to see his effort hit the post.
FL review – In the first instance, it looks like Summerville caught the back of Timber’s foot when striking the ball. However, further assessment shows that the winger gets his foot to the ball just before Timber does.
FL verdict – Correct decision, no penalty.
Dinos Mavropanos handball
This one is very interesting because the explanation that has been given to explain why no penalty was awarded by VAR who deemed this not to be a clear and obvious error is that Dinos Mavropanos makes contact with the ball due to a natural running motion.
FL review – The still image doesn’t give this much context but you can see the fully extended arm of the former Gunners defender making contract with the ball. The arm is away from his body and, for me, not in a natural running position.
In fact it’s almost like the arm extends out to meet the ball. I think this is indeed a clear and obvious error that the referee is unable to see, blocked by Viktor Gyokeres and VAR should have intervened.
FL verdict – Incorrect decision, penalty should have been awarded.
Jurrien Timber penalty that was
In the second half, the full-back did indeed get rewarded with a spot kick after El Hadji Diouf brought the Dutchman down inside the area. Or did he?
Well, that has been the debate as to whether the foul took place outside or inside. For me, it is both, it begins outside and it carries on inside.
FL review - Carrying on from that assessment, the image below seals it for me. Look at the left leg of Diouf, planted well inside the area. It is this leg that continues the contact with Timber into the box, preventing Timber from recovering and taking the ball further.
FL verdict – Correct decision, penalty.
Other moments
Bukayo Saka thought he had scored early on in the match but was adjudged to have been offside. Reviewing the footage, the winger is indeed beyond the last man when Declan Rice plays a beautiful ball beyond the West Ham defence.
Soungoutou Magassa was heavily involved in the game and, at one point, was also spotted making contact with the ball with his hand. This, however, was not a penalty kick. The ball bounced down and up then onto his arm, and he had little to no awareness of this. It would have been extremely harsh.