The decision-making that led to Ibrahima Konate conceding a penalty for Liverpool against Leeds United has been cleared up.
The Frenchman gave away a needless spot-kick late on in the Reds’ fixture at Elland Road 10 days ago. The visitors had been two goals in the lead before Konate’s rash challenge on Wilfried Gnonto as the ball was running out of play.
That resulted in Leeds earning a penalty that was duly converted by Dominic Calvert-Lewin, which sparked a comeback from Daniel Farke’s side. The game ended 3-3, with Konate’s tackle and the award of a penalty the game’s defining moment.
Referee Anthony Taylor did not give a foul initially despite the Liverpool defender barreling into Gnonto. After a quick check at the pitchside monitor, the official reversed that decision and blew to indicate a penalty had been given.
Via the Premier League’s latest Match Officials Mic'd Up show, the process behind that decision was explained, with Taylor originally believing the ball had rolled out for a goal-kick before Konate went careening into Gnonto.
The show, which is hosted by Michael Owen, replayed the incident with the voices of Taylor and John Brooks in the VAR studio.
Taylor is heard explaining he believed the ball went out of play, but when replays from multiple angles showed otherwise, he was counseled to review the incident at the pitchside screen.
“Carless foul by No.5,” the referee is heard saying, before announcing via microphone to the stadium that the decision had been overturned.
PGMOL's Chief Refereeing Officer, Howard Webb, explained that, in his eyes, this was an excellent implementation of VAR.
“When I look at the video, for me it’s a clear penalty,” the former referee explained to Owen. “What, for me, is really important is that when the contact is made by Konate on Gnonto, Konate doesn’t play the ball, he makes the contact and he takes Gnonto down.
“Importantly, the ball is still in play at that moment. You hear on the comms, Anthony Taylor saying ‘the ball is already out of play’. That’s important because if the ball is out of play when that contact happens, it can’t be a penalty.
“VAR looks at it, is able to slow it down, and sees when does the contact happen? How does that relate to where the ball is at that period of time?
“It’s still in play, it’s a clear foul and therefore the intervention by VAR on this one is a good one. It demonstrates the real value of having VAR to rectify what was a clear and obvious error.”

3 hours ago
40








English (US) ·